A Devil in Scotland is a historical romance novel written by Suzanne Enoch. It is the third book in her Regency-era No Ordinary Hero series. I have been a fan of Enoch’s books for years. I was especially excited about this one because I enjoyed the second book in the series and I was looking forward to finding out what was going to happen next.

Callum MacCreath is twenty years old, and wild as they come. Despite this, he professes his love for Rebecca, his childhood friend. There’s just one problem- Rebecca has just agreed to marry Callum’s older brother Ian. Needless to say, this does not go over well, and Ian is forced to leave the Scottish Highlands.

Ten years later, Callum has made a home for himself in Kentucky. He owns a prosperous distillery, and is doing just fine- until he receives a letter informing him that his brother has been dead for almost a year and that he is now the earl. Callum drops everything and journeys back to a life he thought he has left behind forever.

Rebecca always had feelings for Callum, but he was too young and wild when she was ready to settle down. Ten years later, he is even wilder and their connection has not lessened despite the passage of time. Callum insists that Ian was murdered- by the family she is supposed to marry into- and it seems so preposterous that Rebecca doesn’t know what to believe anymore.

This was an amazing book. It had the perfect balance of humor and angst. Callum and Rebecca are both still mourning Ian’s loss, but at the same time, their feelings for each other are impossible to deny. That would have been enough to contend with, but Callum is determined to prove that Ian was murdered. Things are often tense, but the mood is lightened by interactions between Rebecca’s daughter Margaret and Callum’s loyal wolf Waya.

I would absolutely recommend A Devil in Scotland to fans of historical romance. You don’t have to read the other books in the series because they are only tangentially related; the villain of the piece is common denominator in each of the books.    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and found myself reading quickly to find out what was going to happen next. I am looking forward to catching up on the first book in this series as well as waiting to see what Enoch has planned next!

I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley/the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s