The Scot Beds His Wife is a historical romance novel written by Kerrigan Byrne. It is the fifth book in the Victorian Rebels series. I thoroughly enjoyed her last book- The Duke– and I was very excited about reading this newest addition to the series.

Samantha Masters made some bad choices in the Wild West. Very bad choices. So when a chance encounter leads to an opportunity to travel to Scotland posing as an heiress to an estate, Samantha jumps at the chance to leave town and hightail it to the Highlands.

Gavin St. James, the Earl of Thorne, happens to live on the neighboring estate, and he is willing to do whatever it takes to get that land for himself. Usually, it is not very difficult for him to get what he wants from women, but his well-practiced seduction techniques are useless against this brash American.

This was an amazing book. I’ve only read one other book in the series, but it’s clear that Byrne specializes in tortured heroes. Gavin is struggling to overcome his abusive childhood, and distance himself from his family. He is fiercely loyal to the people he loves, and is willing to do anything for them. Likewise, Samantha is also trying to overcome her past, and her experiences have taught her that there are few people who can be trusted.

I have to say that Samantha is one of the most original heroines I have ever encountered in my 15+ years of reading romance novels. She was an absolute delight, and it was a lot of fun seeing Gavin absolutely flummoxed by her. There’s definitely a slow burn, as Samantha and Gavin start off feuding; this is definitely not a case of insta-love. The tension and chemistry are palpable, and once they decide to stop hating each other, wow just wow.

I would absolutely recommend The Scot Beds His Wife. I think this book functions well as a standalone; I haven’t read the book in this series featuring Gavin’s brother, and I was able to follow along without difficulty. This book was every bit as enjoyable as The Duke. I’m already looking forward to seeing what Byrne comes up with next, and I’ll have to catch up on the rest of the series in the meantime!

I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley/the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s