Stormhaven is the third book in Jordan L. Hawk’s Whyborne & Griffin series. It’s hard to condense the series into a few descriptors; the books are action/adventure/mystery with some m/m romance, all in an alternate Victorian American setting. I was excited about reading this book because I devoured the first two, and I needed to know what was going to happen next.

Whyborne and Griffin have returned to Widdershins after their ordeal in Threshold, and they are hoping to return to a sense of normalcy after the chaos of the first two books, but alas, this is not meant to be. Whyborne’s coworker Allan is found on the street covered in blood, claiming not to remember anything. Allan is accused of murdering his uncle, but Whyborne harbors suspicions and does not think Allan would be capable of such a heinous crime.

Whyborne and Griffin’s investigation takes them to the Stormhaven Asylum where Allan is being held. Something is definitely “off”; after two previous experiences in dealing with the paranormal, our dynamic duo can sense the hallmarks of anything otherworldly. But is this threat too big for them to handle?

This was a wonderful book. It built upon its predecessors, but there were also new layers to explore. Griffin’s family comes to visit Widdershins after a long estrangement. He wants to repair his relationship with them, but will they accept him for who he is? Meanwhile, Whyborne experiments with his abilities wielding magic. This was especially wonderful to see because more confidence is exactly what Whyborne needs. I also liked the way their relationship has evolved; the newness of the first book has worn off, but there’s still a great deal of passion.

I would absolutely recommend Stormhaven. Furthermore, I would suggest starting with the first book in the series and reading the books in order. Doing so provides the reader with the backstory needed to understand some of the characters’ motivations and actions. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series. The tenth book was just published, and Hawk has announced that the series will end after book 11. Now that I know this, I have been rationing out the rest of the books, even though every instinct is telling me to go on a reading spree with them. I am looking forward to finding out what happens next in the series!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s