The Scandalous Flirt is the sixth book in Olivia Drake’s Cinderella Sisterhood series of Regency-era historical romance novels. I haven’t read any of the other books in the series, but I always enjoy discovering new authors.

Aurora- better known as Rory- has been living in exile from Society for the past eight years as a result of a scandal during her debut Season. Rory is summoned back to London to help her stepmother Kitty, who has managed to become embroiled in a scandal of her own. Rory needs to retrieve some incriminating letters from the Marquess of Dashell’s house. She happens to know Lucas from her Season, and she has a hard time reconciling the exceedingly straitlaced gentleman with his alleged penchant for extortion. As Rory renews her acquaintanceship with Lucas, she discovers that there is much more to him than she could have possibly imagined.

I enjoyed reading this book. The mystery portion was quite satisfying, and I found myself surprised by the “big reveal”. Rory and Lucas have great chemistry, and I loved the way their relationship developed over the course of the novel. Of course, I have to add that Lucas’ mother the Dowager Marchioness stole the show with her acerbic commentary.

I would recommend The Scandalous Flirt. I don’t think readers have to read the other books in the series before reading this one. I thought the fairy tale element was rather subtle, and that the novel had the perfect mix of romance, mystery, and humor. I’m certainly looking forward to reading the other books in the Sisterhood series.

I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley/the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s